Panthers’ Conference Schedule in Year 1 of New Sun Belt Announced

Photo: Sun Belt Conference

The traditional release of the Sun Belt basketball schedule takes on a new look this year with the additions of new members James Madison, Marshall, Old Dominion and Southern Miss, but today is the day Georgia State finds out their conference slate all the same.

The new 14-team conference schedule consists of 18 games over the course of Sun Belt play, starting with games on December 29, 2022. The Panthers will be the first team James Madison plays in conference play when the Dukes head to Atlanta on that day. Those two teams will also face off in their respective regular season finales on February 24, while growing rivals Appalachian State will be Georgia State’s opponent in their final home game of the season on February 22.

The Panthers’ full Sun Belt schedule is as follows (home games in bold):

12/29 James Madison
12/31 South Alabama

1/5 at ULM
1/7 at Louisiana
1/12 Troy
1/14 Coastal Carolina

1/19 at Old Dominion
1/21 at Georgia Southern
1/26 at App State
1/28 at Marshall
2/2 Georgia Southern
2/4 Southern Miss
2/9 Old Dominion
2/11 Marshall

2/16 at Coastal Carolina
2/18 at Arkansas State
2/22 App State
2/24 at James Madison

Additionally, games in the non-conference portion of the schedule continue to trickle out, with Rocco Miller reporting that Wofford will come to the new Convocation Center on December 10:

This showdown with the Terriers joins previously announced home games against Georgia Tech on November 12 and Rhode Island on a TBD date, as well as a road trip to Auburn on December 2 and a multi-team tournament hosted by the Panthers from November 18-20. The other teams taking part in that MTE will be Eastern Kentucky, Texas A&M-Commerce and UNC Asheville.

As these rumblings turn to official announcements, we’ll have you covered at THERSday Night (@THERSdayNight on Twitter) with the full schedule release in the run-up to Jonas Hayes’ first season at the helm in Atlanta.

%d bloggers like this: