Williams and Roberts Garner All-Sun Belt Honors for Georgia State

Williams and Roberts Garner All-Sun-Belt Honors for Georgia State

With the regular season now complete, the Sun Belt all-conference honors for men’s basketball have been announced this Thursday afternoon in advance of the start of the conference tournament on Saturday. Georgia State has two honorees making the list, with junior guard Kane Williams on the All-Sun Belt Second Team and sophomore guard Justin Roberts on the All-Sun Belt Third Team.

Williams led the Panthers in the regular season with 14.6 points per game and was third in the conference with 4.4 assists per game. Roberts, in his first season playing for the Panthers after transferring in from DePaul, tallied 13.5 points per game and 3.6 assists per game while offering excellent sharpshooting from beyond the arc, finishing second in the conference in three-point percentage among eligible shooters at 41.3%. This announcement marks the first all-conference recognition each player has earned in their collegiate careers.

The complete results are as follows: 

First Team All-Sun Belt:

    • Justin Forrest, Appalachian State
    • Ruot Monyyong, Little Rock
    • Markquis Nowell, Little Rock
    • Josh Ajayi, South Alabama
    • Nijal Pearson, Texas State

Second Team All-Sun Belt:

    • DeVante Jones, Coastal Carolina
    • Quan Jackson, Georgia Southern
    • Kane Williams, Georgia State
    • Michael Ertel, ULM
    • David Azore, UTA

Third Team All-Sun Belt:

    • Kamani Johnson, Little Rock
    • Marquis Eaton, Arkansas State
    • Ike Smith, Georgia Southern
    • Justin Roberts, Georgia State
    • Trhae Mitchell, South Alabama

Sun Belt Player of the Year: Nijal Pearson, Texas State

Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year: Ruot Monyyong, Little Rock

Sun Belt Newcomer of the Year: Ruot Monyyong, Little Rock

Sun Belt Freshman of the Year: Mylik Wilson, Louisiana

Sun Belt Coach of the Year: Darrell Walker, Little Rock

%d bloggers like this: